Uttarakhand Crisis: HC dismisses petition of disqualified MLAs, matter moves to SC

Uttarakhand Crisis: HC dismisses petition of disqualified MLAs

New Delhi: A day prior to floor test in Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha, the Uttarakhand High Court on Monday dismissed the petition of nine Congress MLAs challenging their disqualification by the Speaker, a decision the rebels challenged in the Supreme Court immediately.

Dismissing their petition, the single judge bench of Justice UC Dhyani said the petition stands dismissed and asked the MLAs to go back to Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal seeking a review of his action if they so wished.

The judgement will make the BJP’s task difficult in the confidence vote to be sought by Rawat tomorrow as it will be left with only 28 MLAs including Bhim Lal Arya whose loyalty to the party is in doubt. Though suspended by the BJP Arya continues to represent the party in the House.

ALSO READ: We require more than 70,000 judges to clear pending cases: CJI

It may give Rawat an advantage in the floor test which will now be held in the Assembly with an effective strength of 62 in which the winning side will need 31 MLAs for a majority.

Moments after the high court pronounced its order, the MLAs moved the Supreme Court.

Counsel for the MLAs C A Sundaram mentioned the matter before Chief Justice of India T S Thakur about the high court verdict that had come earlier in the day. The CJI asked the counsel to approach the bench which had on Friday ordered the floor test.

The fresh petition will be heard at 2 PM.

ALSO READ: Bihar politician’s son shoots 19-year old for overtaking

Meanwhile, the same bench is also expected to hear at 12:30 PM the Centre’s petition seeking modification of its order on the floor test saying the official concerned has refused to act as observer on the ground that a clarification is needed on his designation.

Today’s order of the high court ensures that the disqualification of the MLAs stays and would keep the rebel MLAs out of the proceedings during the confidence vote for Rawat in the Assembly on Tuesday unless overturned by the apex court.

Ordering a floor test on May 10 in the Assembly, the Supreme Court had said “if they (disqualified MLAs) have the same status” at the time of vote of confidence, they cannot participate in the House.

ALSO READ: Two students commit suicide in Kota

A specially convened two-hour-long session during which the President’s Rule will be kept in abeyance will be held between 11 AM and 1 PM for a “single agenda” of floor test, a bench of Justices Dipak Misra and Shiva Kirti Singh had said.

(With PTI inputs)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here