Another IPS officer removed by EC in poll-bound Bengal

Transfer, reshuffle, 10 IPS officers, Haryana
Transfer, reshuffle, 10 IPS officers, Haryana

Kolkata: After the removal of 37 officials including a District Magistrate and four Superintendents of Police two, the Election Commission removed another IPS official Bharati Ghosh in poll-bound West Bengal following complaints from opposition parties.

“Yes, I have received the order of Bharati Ghosh’s removal. With her removal, a total of 38 officials in the state have been removed by the Election Commission,” Chief Secretary Basudeb Banerjee said.

Ghosh, who was working as Officer on Special Duty in LWE area and former SP of West Midnapore district, has been asked to take over as Special Superintendent under CID, West Bengal, Banerjee said.

ALSO READ: Did you hear about ‘A4 waist challenge’?

Hooghly District Magistrate Sanjay Bansal, Burdwan SP Kunal Agarwal, Malda SP Prasum Bandyopadhyay, Nadia SP Bhaskar Mukherjee and South Dinajpur SP Arnab Ghosh were among the 37 officials the EC had removed earlier.

Mukta Arya had been asked to take over as the new DM of Hooghly district.

Those who replaced the four SPs were Gourav Sharma in Burdwan, Waqar Raja in Malda, Sisram Jhajhoria in Nadia and Rashid Munir Khan in South Dinajpur district.

ALSO READ: Sri Lanka face Gayle storm in World T20 clash

The two District Election Officers of Kolkata South and North were also removed earlier.

Regarding replacement of other officials, Election Commission officials here said a panel of officials has already been sanctioned by it.

The transfer order came a couple of days after the full bench of the Election Commission, led by Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi, visited the city and interacted with political leaders when opposition parties had complained against these officials.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here