South Africa send England in to bat in first T20

South Africa won the toss and sent England in to bat in the first Twenty20 international at Newlands on Friday.

It was a cool, cloudy evening with the possibility of rain showers. Rain twice interrupted a women’s Twenty20 international between the two countries, played earlier, which South Africa won by 17 runs according to the Duckworth/Lewis method.

South African captain Faf du Plessis said at the toss that Quinton de Kock would not play because of a “niggle”. AB de Villiers will keep wicket.


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers (wkt), JP Duminy, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, David Wiese, Chris Morris, Kyle Abbott, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir.

England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, David Willey.

Umpires: Johan Cloete and Shaun George (both RSA)

TV umpire: Adrian Holdstock (RSA)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zim)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here