President administers oath to new CVC and CIC

New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee administered oath of office to K.V. Chowdary as the next Central Vigilance Commissioner and to Vijai Sharma as the next Chief Information Commissioner.

The oath of their respective offices was done in the presence of a host of dignitaries.

Chowdary is an ex-officer of the Indian Revenue Service. He was appointed Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) of India by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on June 8, 2015.

He is a 1978-batch officer of the Income Tax cadre. He was the Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), the apex authority of the Indian Income Tax department. He had earlier served as the Director General of I-T (Investigations) in the national capital where he headed a number of high-profile tax probes, including the 2G spectrum allocation case

HSBC Geneva taxpayers list along with a number of cases dealing with black money and tax evasion raids on Nitin Gadkari’s firms which led to Gadkari stepping down as BJP president. He was also involved in the investigation against meat exporter Moin Qureshi and his links with former CBI Director Ranjit Sinha.

Vijai Sharma is an ex-I.A.S. of the 1974 batch (Uttar Pradesh cadre). He has been Member (Expert), National Green Tribunal, Principal Bench, New Delhi; Secretary in the Ministry of Environment and Forests; Additional/Special Secretary, Cabinet Secretariat, Government of India; Special Adviser to Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme; Senior Adviser to the Secretary-General of the United Nations Commission on Sustainable Development; Joint Secretary to Government of India, Ministry of Environment and Forests; Secretary/ Principal Secretary to Government of U.P., Environment/ Vigilance/ Housing/ Elections/ Energy Departments; Chairperson, U.P. State Pollution Control Board; Chief Electoral Officer, U.P.;

Registrar Cooperatives U.P., Administrator U.P. State Cooperative Bank and Land Development Bank /Relief Commissioner U.P. and District Magistrate of Jhansi/ Moradabad/ Meerut. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here