Bangladesh Parliament passes motion thanking India

Dhaka: The Bangladesh Jatiya Sangsad (Parliament) on Tuesday evening unanimously adopted a thanks giving motion over the ratification of the longstanding Land Boundary Agreement (LBA) in Indian Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, hailing the Indian people and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and also Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina for her farsighted diplomatic success on this issue.

Members of Parliament (MPs) form both treasury and opposition benches unanimously expressed their heartiest gratitude to the Government of India for paving the way for ensuring a new life with a new identity of about 0.50 lakh people in 152 enclaves in the territories of Bangladesh and India. 

The lawmakers took part in a discussion as Chief Whip ASM Feroz placed a thanks giving motion in the House as per a notice under the Rules of Procedure 147 (1) with Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair.

The MPs described the LBA of 1974 as a milestone in the history as it is not a mere agreement between the two neighboring countries but also an evidence bearing the age-old friendship between Bangladesh and India that was rooted by two leaders – Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and the then India Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. 

Bangladesh Cabinet on May 25 ratified the LBA protocol. 

Taking part in the discussion, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina recalled how India stood by Bangladesh during the 1971 Liberation War. 

“India has always stood by Bangladesh in times of need,” she said.

Leader of the Opposition Raushon Ershad and 18 other MPs took part in a discussion on the motion.

The BNP, which boycotted the last general elections, has also welcomed the LBA ratification. BNP chief Khaleda Zia also congratulated Narendra Modi. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here