Windies field against South Africa in fourth ODI

The West Indies won the toss and decided to bowl in the fourth one-day international against South Africa at St George’s Park in Port Elizabeth on Sunday.

With the series secured after they won the first three matches, South Africa rested leading run-scorer Hashim Amla and fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander, while captain AB de Villiers played as a batsman only, handing the wicketkeeping gloves to Morne van Wyk.

Wayne Parnell and Kyle Abbott replaced the two fast bowlers while left-arm spinner Aaron Phangiso played in place of leg-spinner Imran Tahir.

West Indies rested fast bowler Jerome Taylor while Narsingh Deonarine (neck) and Suleiman Benn (back) were ruled out.

Sheldon Cottrell, Leon Johnson and Darren Sammy came in to the side.


South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Rilee Rossouw, Morne van Wyk (wkt), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, JP Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kyle Abbott, Morne Morkel

West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Leon Johnson, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin (wkt), Jonathan Carter, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Carlos Brathwaite, Sheldon Cottrell

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS), Shaun George (RSA)

TV umpire: Sundaram Ravi (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here