16 ex-ministers served eviction notice

New Delhi, July 30: Sixteen former ministers of the UPA government are holding unauthorized residences in government bungalows for over a month now and have been served eviction notices, the Lok Sabha was told on Wednesday.

These former ministers owe a total damage charges of Rs 20,92,463 for one month of unauthorised stay till July 26, Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu said in a written reply. Jaipal Reddy, Ajit Singh, Krishna Tirath, Sachin Pilot, M M Palam Raju, Girija Vyas, Farooq Abdullah, Beni Prasad Varma, Kapil Sibal and Srikant Jena are among 16 former ministers who have not vacated their accommodation till date.

Naidu said damage charges ranged from Rs 53,250 per month in case of Type V accommodation of Lalchand Kataria to Rs 2,43,678 for Type VIII accommodation of Jaipal Reddy. He said another 21 former ministers are staying in General Pool Bungalows and they have been given 15 days time to move into their entitled accommodation to be provided by the respective House Committees.

These former ministers who are members of either Rajya Sabha or Lok Sabha have been advised to obtain accommodation from their respective pools. These former ministers included A K Antony, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Mallikarjuna Kharge, Veerappa Moily, Vyalar Ravi, Oscar Fernandes, Jairam Ramesh, Jyotiraditya Scindia, K V Thomas, K Rahman Khan, K H Muniyappa, Shashi Tharoor, K Chiranjivi, Mullappally Ramachandran, Rajiv Shukla, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, A H Khan Choudhury, Ninon Erring, E M Sudershan Nachiappan, K C Venugopal and J Seelam.

Besides Naidu said a total of 683 flats ranging from Type I to Type VII are under unauthorised occupation of former employees and others for a period ranging from one month to 21 years. All of them have been issued eviction notices.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here