Battle For Bihar: Congress Releases List Of 49 Candidates, Youth Power To The Fore

Congress has released second list of candidates ahead of Bihar assembly polls. The checklist of 49 candidates includes Shatrughan Sinha’s son Luv Sinha and Sharad Yadav’s daughter Subhashini. While actor-turned-politician Luv Sinha has got ticket from Bankipur, Subhashini Yadav will contest from Biharganj seat.

Bankipore seat will be a tight rope walk for Luv Sinha as this seat is an old BJP bastion. It falls under the Patna Sahib Lok Sabha constituency that Shatrughan Sinha represented twice for the BJP.

BJP meanwhile has fielded sitting MLA Nitin Navin, who has secured landslide victory thrice in Bihar. Founder of Plurals Party Pushpam Priya Choudhary is also eyeing the Bankipore seat. The political clash becomes even more interesting as BJP rebel Sushma Sahu is also contesting from the seat as an Independent candidate.

New to the political pulpit, Sharad Yadav’s daughter Subhashini had said in one of her interviews, “There was a demand from the people for leadership since my father, Sharad Yadav, was hospitalized. It is my moral responsibility to take forward his legacy.”

Congress has also given ticket to former Bihar Chief Minister Abdul Gafoor’s grandson Asif Gafoor from Gopalganj. State Youth Congress chief Gunjan Patel has been fielded from  Nalanda seat.

Voting for 243 assembly constituencies in the state will be held in three phases from October 28.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here