Mamata bars flights from six cities from landing in Kolkata till Aug 31

Odisha, Cyclone Fani, Kolkata Airport, Suresh Prabhu, News Mobile, News Mobile India,
Credits: TOI

The West Bengal government has extended the suspension of flights from six major cities –  New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Pune, Nagpur and Ahmedabad till August 31. This has been done to check the spread of novel coronavirus since these cities have a high load of COVID-19 cases.

West Bengal Home Secretary Alapan Bondopadhyay in a letter to the Secretary of the Civil Aviation Ministry has communicated the decision of the state government in this regard.

ALSO READ: Diagnosed COVID-19 positive, Pranab Mukherjee on ventilator support, undergoes brain surgery

“Kindly refer to my earlier letter no. 371/HS/PA/20 dated 3-07-20 under reference to Chief Secretary’s letter No 282-CS/2020 dated 17-7-20 regarding the suspension of flights to Kolkata from High COVID prevalence cities (vis, Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai and Ahmedabad). I am further directed to inform you that the suspension of flights from the aforesaid cities to Kolkata will continue till 31st August 2020,” the letter from  Bandyopadhyay reads.

According to the Union Health Ministry, West Bengal has so far recorded 26,375 number of COVID-19 cases. Out of the total, 15,35,743 have been migrated and 2,059 have died after contracting the virus.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here