President Kovind appoints Arvind Kejriwal as Delhi CM; 6 Ministers to take oath

Arvind Kejriwal (File image)

President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday appointed Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convenor Arvind Kejriwal as the Chief Minister of Delhi.

The President also appointed six other ministers in the Delhi government’s cabinet. Manish Sisodia, Satyender Jain, Gopal Rai, Kailash Gehlot, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Gautam will take oath along with Kejriwal on Sunday, February 16.

“The President has been pleased to appoint Shri Arvind Kejriwal to be the Chief Minister, National Capital Territory of Delhi with effect from the date he is sworn in,” an official gazette stated.

A separate notification said the President has also accepted the resignation of Kejriwal as chief minister of the NCT of Delhi along with his council of ministers with immediate effect.

ALSO READ: Pay outstanding dues by 11.59 pm tonight: Centre orders telecom firms after SC rap

In the recently-concluded Delhi Assembly polls, the AAP won with a landslide victory with 62 out of 70 seats. The BJP increased its tally of three in 2015 to eight seats while the Congress failed to win even a single seat for the second consecutive time.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here