Fact Check: BJP lost 8 seats by 100 votes and 19 seats by 1000 votes? Here’s the truth

After the Delhi election results came out where AAP claimed a landslide victory, a post has been doing rounds on social media.

The post claims:-

” Delhi..
BJP lost by less than:
100 votes: 8 Seats
1,000 votes:19 Seats
2,000 votes: 9 Seats
Add this seat won 8
It comes to 44 seat
Think what people do when they don’t vote or What u get when voting percentage is low .3% more voting could have changed the entire game .”


NewsMobile Fact-checked the above post and found it to be false.

We checked the official website of the Election Commission and found the constituency-wise result there.

On critically examining the results and vote margins, we found the following-

  • Only two constituencies have victory margin less than 1000 votes – Bijwasan (753) and Laxmi Nagar (880)
  • Only one constituency has victory margin less than 2000 votes – Adarsh Nagar (1,589)
  • And NO constituency has a victory margin less than 100 votes.

Here’s the constituency wise result:

Constituency Winner Runner- up Victory Margin
Adarsh Nagar AAP BJP 1589
Ambedkar Nagar AAP BJP 28327
Babarpur AAP BJP 33062
Badarpur BJP AAP 3719
Badli AAP BJP 29123
Ballimaran AAP BJP 36172
Bawana AAP BJP 11526
Bijwasan AAP BJP 753
Burari AAP BJP 88158
Chandni Chowk AAP BJP 29584
Chhatarpur AAP BJP 3720
Delhi Cantonment AAP BJP 10590
Deoli AAP BJP 40173
Dwarka AAP BJP 14387
Gandhi Nagar BJP AAP 6079
Ghonda BJP AAP 28370
Gokalpur AAP BJP 19488
Greater Kailash AAP BJP 16809
Hari Nagar AAP BJP 20131
Janakpuri AAP BJP 14917
Jangpura AAP BJP 16063
Kalkaji BJP AAP 11393
Karawal Nagar AAP BJP 8223
Karol Bagh AAP BJP 31760
Kasturba Nagar AAP BJP 3165
Kirari AAP BJP 5654
Kondli AAP BJP 17907
Krishna Nagar AAP BJP 3995
Laxmi Nagar BJP AAP 880
Madipur AAP BJP 22719
Malviya Nagar AAP BJP 18144
Mangol Puri AAP BJP 30116
Matia Mahal AAP BJP 50241
Matiala AAP BJP 28075
Mehrauli AAP BJP 18161
Model Town AAP BJP 11133
Moti Nagar AAP BJP 14072
Mundka AAP BJP 19158
Mustafabad AAP BJP 20704
Najafgarh AAP BJP 6231
Nangloi Jat AAP BJP 11624
Narela AAP BJP 17429
New Delhi AAP BJP 21697
Okhla AAP BJP 71827
Palam AAP BJP 32765
Patel Nagar AAP BJP 30935
Patparganj AAP BJP 3207
R K Puram AAP BJP 10369
Rajinder Nagar AAP BJP 20058
Rajouri Garden AAP BJP 22972
Rithala AAP BJP 13873
Rohini BJP AAP 12648
Rohtas Nagar BJP AAP 13241
Sadar Bazar AAP BJP 25644
Sangam Vihar AAP BJP 42522
Seelampur AAP BJP 36920
Seemapuri AAP BJP 56108
Shahdara AAP BJP 5294
Shakur Basti AAP BJP 7592
Shalimar Bagh AAP BJP 3440
Sultan Pur Majra AAP BJP 48052
Tilak Nagar AAP BJP 28029
Timarpur AAP BJP 24144
Tri Nagar AAP BJP 10710
Trilokpuri AAP BJP 12486
Tughlkabad AAP BJP 13758
Uttam Nagar AAP BJP 19759
Vikaspuri AAP BJP 42058
Vishwas Nagar BJP AAP 16457
Wazirpur AAP BJP 11690


The above information proves that the viral post is FAKE.

If you want to fact-check any story, WhatsApp it now on +91 88268 00707


Picture/video url

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here