Padma Awards 2020 announced; here is the full list!

Padma Awards is one of the highest civilian Awards of the country and are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

Former union ministers Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and George Fernandes and Olympian boxer Mary Kom were among seven prominent personalities who were awarded the Padma Vibhushan on Saturday, the Home Ministry announced.

ALSO READ: This decade will see rise of new India: Prez Ram Nath Kovind

Prime Minister Narendra Modi also congratulated the Padma awardees.

“Congratulations to all those who have been conferred the Padma Awards,” he tweeted.

The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of a high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

This year the President has approved conferment of 141 Padma Awards including 4 duo cases (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one) as per list below. The list comprises of 7 Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri Awards.


Here is a list of few awardees:

Shri George Fernandes (Padma Vibhushan)

George Fernandes, Passed away, Dead, 88, Defence Minister, India, NewsMobile, Mobile, News, India

Shri Arun Jaitley (Padma Vibhushan)

Arun Jaitley, Amit Shah, Dr Harsh Vardhan, AIIMS, PM Narendra Modi, BJP, Former Finance Minister, News Mobile, News Mobile India

Smt. M. C. Mary Kom (Padma Vibhushan)

Mary Kom, Boxing, AIBA, Indian Boxing Federation, Ambassador, News Mobile, News Mobile India
Mary Kom

Smt. Sushma Swaraj (Padma Vibhushan)

pirates, nigeria, India, sailors abducted, kidnappings, nigerian coast, NewsMobile, Sushma Swaraj, Twitter
Sushma Swaraj

Former defence minister Manohar Parrikar, Olympian badminton player P V Sindhu, former Nagaland chief minister S C Jamir and Jammu and Kashmir politician Muzaffar Hussain Baig have been awarded the Padma Bhushan, a home ministry statement said.

P. V. Sindhu (Padma Bhushan)

File Image

Manohar Parrikar (Padma Bhushan)

From Bollywood, filmmakers Karan Johar and Ekta Kapoor and actor Kangana Ranaut among others have been awarded Padma Shri.

Ekta Kapoor (Padma Shri)

Ekta Kapoor, a mother to baby boy via surrogacy
Ekta Kapoor

Karan Johar (Padma Shri)

Kangana Ranaut (Padma Shri)

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here