KL Rahul, Kohli guide India to victory over Kiwis; defeated NZ by six wickets

Chasing the massive total of 204-runs, Indian batsmen showed their top-class in the first T20 against New Zealand, as the Men in Blue defeated Kiwis by six wickets to lead the five-match series by 1-0.

Batting first New Zealand set a target of 204-runs for India.

While opener Rohit Sharma could contribute much, but KL Rahul once again proved his value in the team as he went on playing 56-runs innings creating a backbone partnership with skipper Virat Kohli.

Kohli (45) also did power-hitting with Rahul to keep required run-rate under 10.

In the end, Shreyas Iyer (41) and Manish Pandey (13) sealed the win for India.


New Zealand: 203/5 (20-overs)

India: 204/4 (19-overs)

ALSO READ: Serena Williams knocked out in the third round of the Australian Open

The Kiwis are hosting India for the five-match T20I series, followed by three-ODIs and two Tests.

India’s T20I squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul (WK), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, and Shardul Thakur.

New Zealand T20I squad: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Tim Seifert (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, and Hamish Bennett.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here