Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh are now officially Union Territories

File image

October 31, 2019 – the day when two new union territories are officially a part of India – Ladakh and Jammu & Kashmir. It also marks the end of the status of a state to Jammu & Kashmir.

The Presidential proclamation of August 9 giving assent to the bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir into two Union Territories came into effect at 12am of October 31, 2019.

G C Murmu, a former bureaucrat from PM Modi’s home state of Gujarat, will be the first lieutenant governor of the union territory of Jammu & Kashmir. While, former civil servant, Radha Krishna Mathur, will take office as the lieutenant governor of Ladakh.

While UT of Ladakh will not have an assembly and will be directly governed by the Union Home Ministry through the L-G, Kashmir will have an assembly and will largely work along the lines of the Delhi model but rules to govern the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019 are yet to be notified.

Both the new UTs are born on the National Unity Day, the birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, who was India’s first home minister and a freedom fighter.

Also Read: NewsMobile Mid-day Wrap

After coming back to power with a thumping majority, the BJP-led NDA government fulfilled its prime election agenda and abrogated Article 370.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took up his second term on May 30 and on August 5, in the first Parliament session of the new Lok Sabha, the announcement of abrogation of J&K was made. Post the announcement, major events took place there. The valley’s important political leaders were detained, there was a communication lockdown and other security restrictions were imposed. As of today, most of the issues have been resolved and communication ban has been lifted.


For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here