J&K govt to release three politicians from detention today; conditions apply

Jammu And Kashmir, Burhan Wani, Srinagar, Hizbul Mujahideen, News Mobile, News Mobile India
File image

Three politicians who were detained after the abrogation of Article 370 on August 5, will be released today by the Jammu and Kashmir administration. Officials have named the politicians as Yawar Mir, Noor Mohammed and Shoiab Lone, who will be released on various grounds which includes signing of a bond.

Also Read: PM Modi to get new wings; Air India One to be upgraded to B-777

Yawar Mir is a former MLA of the PDP from Rafiabad assembly seat, while Lone contested on a Congress ticket but lost from North Kashmir and later resigned from the party. He was considered close to People’s Conference chief Sajjad Lone. Noor Mohammed is a National Conference worker who has been managing the party’s show in the militancy-infested Batmaloo area of the Srinagar city. The bod that they have to sign states that they will maintain peace and good behaviour.

The governor administration had earlier released Imran Ansari of the People’s Conference and Syed Akhoon on health grounds on September 21. More than a thousand people, including politicians, separatists, activists and lawyers, were detained after the August 5 decision of the Central government that lead to the abrogation of the special status given to J&K. The detainees include three former chief ministers Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti.

Out of the total numbers detained, over 250 were sent to the jails outside Jammu and Kashmir. Farooq Abdullah was subsequently detained under the stringent Public Safety Act, while other politicians were mostly detained under different sections of the criminal procedure code.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here