Karnataka crisis: Speaker rejects resignation of 8 MLAs, says resignations ‘not in order’

File image

Karnataka’s Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) coalition government got a breather on Tuesday after Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar rejected letters of eight legislators for not being in order and asked them to send letters as per the correct format.

“I have to make a conscious decision. Every step I take will become history, so I can’t be committing a mistake. Future generations should not look at me like an accused,” Kumar said

The Speaker also asked five MLAs whose resignations are in order to meet him personally on Friday and Monday. He said none of the 13 MLAs had met him to give their resignations.

Earlier on Saturday, July 6, 13 Congress-JD(S) MLAs submitted their resignation from the Assembly pushing the Karnataka coalition on the brink of collapse.

The Speaker also said he has received a petition from Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramiah seeking disqualification of the dissident MLAs. Kumar also questioned the communication from Governor Vajubhai Vala asking him to accept the resignations of the MLAs and the ministers who have quit the government.

“I have written to Governor Vajubhai Vala that none of the rebel MLAs have met me. Governor has assured me that he will uphold the constitution,” Kumar said.

ALSO READ: Karnataka Crisis Highlights: Rebel Congress lawmakers to stay back in Mumbai

The Speaker said that the Governor wrote back to him, claiming that Independent lawmaker H Nagesh has resigned. “There is nothing I can do about the Ministers. I do not know why the Governor wrote to me. It is left to the Independent MLAs to decide who they will back on the floor of the house,” Kumar said.

Kumar said that the Congress told him that R Shankar has merged with their party. “If it was done as per the rules, there is no issue. There is no need for investigation. I have all the documents. I will give it to you,” the Speaker added.

Earlier today, Congress leader Roshan Baig resigned from his membership of state Assembly. “All JD(S) ministers have resigned, like the 21 Congress ministers who had resigned,” tweeted the CMO from their official Twitter account.

JD(S) rebel MLA H Vishwanath had said that 14 MLAs have jointly tendered their resignations to Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar and requested him to accept them.

(With inputs from ANI)

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here