Major blow to Chandrababu Naidu, 4 TDP Rajya Sabha MPs join BJP

In a major setback to the TDP, four of its six Rajya Sabha MPs from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana merged themselves with the BJP in the presence of BJP working president J P Nadda on Thursday.

This comes after the Chandrababu-led TDP’s dismal performance in the recently-concluded elections.

Accompanied by BJP Working President J P Nadda and Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha Thawar Chand Gehlot, three MPs – Y S Chowdary, C M Ramesh and T G Venkatesh – met Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu and submitted a resolution purportedly passed by the Legislature Party of Telugu Desam in the upper House where the merger decision was taken.

ALSO READ: Today in Parliament

The fourth MP, G Mohan Rao, who is from Telangana, was not part of the delegation that met Naidu as he was stated to have suffered some injury.

The resolution said the Legislature Party met under the leadership of Chowdary and Deputy leader Ramesh. The TDP has six members in Rajya Sabha and three in Lok Sabha.

Reacting to the development, TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu condemned the attempts of BJP in weakening TDP.

For viral videos and Latest trends subscribe to NewsMobile YouTube Channel and Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here