Sonia, Rahul Gandhi to attend PM Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, PM Narendra Modi, Swearing-in, May 30, Congress, UPA, BJP, NDA, News Mobile, News Mobile India

UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi as well as Congress chief Rahul Gandhi will be attending PM elect Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony on May 30.

PM Modi’s second swearing-in will be a grand event at the presidential palace Rashtrapati Bhavan in the presence of politicians, world leaders and celebrities.

ALSO READ: PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony: High-profile guest list – all you need to know

The BJP, led by PM Modi, won a staggering victory in the national election and a clear mandate to retain power for a second term.

The Congress, at the same time, has suffered a crushing defeat and has been decimated in 18 states and union territories. Sonia Gandhi won the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Raebareli and Rahul Gandhi won from Wayanad.

Leaders from BIMSTEC countries, the Prime Minister of Mauritius and the President of Kyrgystan – who is also the chair of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) – will attend the oath ceremony.

Chief Ministers of non-BJP ruled states will also attend the event, except for Bengal’s CM Mamata Banerjee, who pulled out accusing the BJP of trying to politicise the occasion. She accused the BJP of falsely alleging that 54 of its workers were killed in political violence in Bengal and then inviting their families to the oath.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here