India’s 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup squad to be announced on April 15

India’s World Cup squad will be announced on April 15 in Mumbai, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said on Monday.

According to the guidelines issued by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the World Cup, ‘every team has to announce their final squad on or before April 23. The teams, however, can make any changes to the final squad of 15 at least seven days prior to the tournament.’

ALSO READ: IPL 2019: Narine, Lynn power KKR to eight-wicket win over RR

A total of 10 teams will participate in the World Cup (Australia, England, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, West Indies, and Afghanistan) and unlike the previous editions, it will be played in a round robin format. A total of 45 league matches will be played where all the teams will play against each other. The top four nations will advance to the semi-finals.

Earlier, teams used to announce a 30-players probable list two months before the tournament, but under the new members playing agreement which came into effect in 2016, the teams do not need to follow this practice.

Cricket World Cup 2019 will be played from 30th May to 14th July this year in England and Wales.

England and South Africa will lock horns with each other in the opening game of the tournament.

India takes on South Africa in their opening game of the tournament on June 5.

The rest of the matches of India in the World Cup-

June 9: India vs Australia

June 13: India vs New Zealand

June 16: India vs Pakistan

June 22: India vs Afghanistan

June 27: India vs West Indies

June 30: India vs England

July 2: India vs Bangladesh

July 6: India vs Sri Lanka

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here