Battle for India: Ravi Shankar Prasad likely to replace Shatrughan Sinha in 2019 LS polls

Ravi Shankar Prasad likely to replace Shatrughan Sinha in 2019 LS polls

Actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha, BJP’s sitting Member of Parliament (MP) from Patna Saheb parliamentary constituency in Bihar is likely to be replaced with Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, according to sources.

Sinha has criticised the party leadership several times in the past. He had also put out a series of tweets that seemed to indicate that he will leave the party.

ALSO READ: Major political defections ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha Polls

Sinha was also seen sharing the stage with opposition leaders at an anti-BJP rally in Kolkata in January.

The BJP held a meeting at party’s headquarters presided over by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party national president Amit Shah, to shortlist candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections on March 16.

ALSO READ: Congress to contest in 11 constituencies in Bihar

According to sources, the decision was taken to field Ravi Shankar Prasad from Patna Saheb and R K Singh from Ara parliamentary constituencies. Further, the party is likely to field Sanjay Jaiswal from West Champaran and Union Minister Radha Mohan Singh from East Champaran constituencies in Bihar.

The BJP Central Election Committee is likely to meet again on March 18 and by March 22 the party may announce the list of all candidates.

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here