Asian Championship: Mary Kom pulls out; Sonia Chahal, Nikhat Zareen to lead Indian women boxing team

Mary Kom, Sonia Chahal, Pooja Rani, Nikhat Zareen, Asian Women's Championship, Indian Boxing, News Mobile, News Mobile India
File Image

Legendary MC Mary Kom has decided to skip the Asian Women’s Championship to prepare for the bigger events ahead and in her absence, world championship silver medallist Sonia Chahal will lead the 20-member Indian contingent at the event, to be held in Bangkok from April 16 to 27.

Six-time world champion Mary Kom, who won India’s solitary gold medal at the 2017 edition in Vietnam, wants to focus on the World Championships to be held later this year.

ALSO READ: It’s confirmed! India set to host the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020

In Mary Kom’s absence, Sonia and former gold medallist Sarita Devi and ex-world junior champion Nikhat Zareen will spearhead the Indian contingent.

A lot of talented youngsters has made it to the team on the basis of the three-day trials held at the Indira Gandhi Stadium. A total of 46 boxers appeared in trials.


48kg: Nitu (Haryana), Manju Rani (Punjab, reserve).

51kg: Nikhat Zareen (Telangana), Pinki Rani (Haryana, reserve).

54kg: Manisha (Haryana), Meenakumari (AIP, reserve)

57kg: Sonia Chahal (RSPB), Sakshi (Haryana, reserve)

60kg: Sarita Devi (AIP), Parveen (Haryana, reserve)

64kg: Simranjit Kaur (Punjab), Pwilao Basumatary (RSPB, reserve)

69kg: Lovlina Borgohain (Assam), Anjali Tushir (reserve)

75kg: Nupur (Haryana), Pooja (RSPB, reserve)

81kg: Pooja Rani (Haryana), Nandini (CHD, reserve)

81+kg: Seema Poonia (RSPB), Kavita Chahal (AIP, reserve).

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here