ICC charges WIs Shannon Gabriel for making homophobic remark

File Photo

International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday charged West Indies pacer Shannon Gabriel for making homophobic comment.

“Shannon Gabriel has been charged with a breach Article 2.13 of the ICC Code of Conduct. The charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by Match Referee Jeff Crowe. Until the proceedings have concluded, the ICC will not comment further,” ICC tweeted.

English skipper Joe Root Gabriel accused Gabriel of hurling anti-gay remark during the recently concluded third Test between both the teams.
On Day Three of the St. Lucia Test, Root responded to an inaudible comment of Gabriel saying, “Don’t use it as an insult. There’s nothing wrong with being gay,” Cricket Australia reported.
The right-arm bowler was also given a warning by the on-field umpires Rod Tucker and Kumar Dharmasena about his language. The umpires, later, laid a formal charge against Gabriel.
Meanwhile, England won the third Test against West Indies by 232 runs but lost the three-match series as they had conceded defeat in the first two Tests. Next, both the teams will take on each other for five one-day matches and a three T20 international from February 20 to March 10.
(With ANI inputs)

Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here