2019 elections: Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav join hands in Uttar Pradesh

Mayawati, BSP, SP, RLD, Uttar Pradesh, Congress, BJP, Lok Sabha Elections 2019, News Mobile, News Mobile India

Bahujan Samaj Party supremo Mayawati and Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav have decided to contest 2019 Lok Sabha elections together.

Akhilesh Yadav met Mayawati on Friday in Delhi to propose the alliance. However, no official statement has been released by any party.

ALSO READ: On trust factor NaMo scores over RaGa in social media poll

According to the reports, the two parties have decided to contest 37 each of the 80 seats, leaving the remaining six for allies including Congress, Rashtriya Lok Dal and other smaller parties.

SP and BSP will not be contesting the Amethi and Rae Bareli seat, constituencies of Congress leader Rahul Gandhi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, respectively, some reports suggest.

ALSO READ: Mayawati asks Congress to drop Bharat Bandh cases in MP and Rajasthan

The parties are expected to make a  formal announcement on seat sharing after January 15.

BSP was the first party which offered support to Congress in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan. However, Mayawati had asked Congress to withdraw cases against Dalits lodged during a protest in 2018 in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, if they won’t BSP’s support.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here