Bypolls 2018: BJP loses ground as regional parties win

Gujarat Election, Re Polling, six polling booth, Election Commission, official, forget, wipe, existing data, EVM, Politics, NewsMobile, Mobile News, India
Representational Image

The results for the by-election held across nine states and in 10 constituency seats on May 28 show that the Bhartiya Janata Party has lost significant ground in the assembly polls though it saved face in the Loksabha by-polls.

The counting was done on Thursday and results were declared the same evening. BJP won just one of the 10 constituencies in the assembly by-polls, clearly stalled by the opposition’s anti-BJP unity, ahead of the crucial 2019 general elections.

The only seat that the BJP managed to retain was Tharali in Uttarakhand, where Munni Devi Shah defeated Congress’ Jeet Ram with a margin of 1981 votes.

The results of the Lok Sabha by-elections were more even with BJP winning two – Maharashtra’s Palghar and Nagaland – of the four seats for which elections were held.

ALSO READ: By-polls: Faulty EVMs reported from various places

Lok Sabha Seats:

Kairana, Uttar Pradesh: Tabassum Hasan of the RLD defeated Mriganka Singh of the BJP

Gondia-Bhandara, Maharashtra: Madhukar Kukde of the NCP defeated Hemant Patel fielded by the BJP

Palghar, Maharashtra: BJP candidate Rajendra Gavit defeated Shrinivas Wanaga who was nominated by the Shiv Sena against their ally.

Nagaland: Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate Tokheho Yepthomi won seat by a margin of 173746 seats defeating C Apok Jamir. Ruling party of Nagaland, People’s Democratic Alliance – comprising of Bharatiya Janata Party, National People’s Party, Janata Dal-United and the lone Independent member- supported Yephtomi.

Assembly seats:

Chengannur, Kerala: CPI(M)-led LDF’s Saji Cheriyan won, defeating the Congress as well as the BJP.

ALSO READL Bypolls 2018: Early trends indicate a blow to BJP as regional parties lead; RLD wins Kairana

Jokihat, Bihar: RJD candidate Shahnawaz Alam won the seat, defeating Nitish Kumar’s

Noorpur, Uttar Pradesh: Samajwadi Party candidate Naeemul Hasan won the assembly seat defeating the BJP. He was supported by the Congress, the BSP and the AAP.

C: Congress candidate Hardev Singh Ladi won defeating the Akali Dal and the AAP.

Silli and Gomia, Jharkhand: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) retained both Silli and Gomia seats in Jharkhand.

Maheshtala, West Bengal: Trinamool Congress’ Dulal Das won the seat by over 62,000 votes. The BJP came in second, followed by Left-Congress alliance.

Ampati, Meghalaya: Congress candidate Miani D Shira defeated Clement G Momin of the NPP

Palus Kadegaon, Maharashtra: Congress candidate Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam won the seat uncontested.

Rajarajeshwari Nagar Assembly Seat, Karnataka: Congress candidate Muniratna defeating BJP candidate with a margin of over 41,000 votes.

Tharali, Uttarakhand: BJP retained its seat with Munni Devi Shah defeating Congress’ Jeetram by over 1,900 votes.



Click here for Latest News updates and viral videos on our AI-powered smart news genie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here