Karnataka set for a photo finish, predict exit polls

Karnataka may be headed for a hung assembly, as no party seems to be reaching the magic number of 112, according to exit polls.

The average of all the ten exit polls says that the BJP is likely to get 97 seats followed closely by the Congress at 90. The J.D. (s) is expected to win from 33 seats.

The provisional voting percentage in the Karnataka assembly elections is at 70%, according to the election commission. In the 2013 assembly elections, the voting percentage was 71.45%.

Karnataka has 224 total assembly seats but elections were held in 222, as the election for one constituency has been postponed following the death of B.N. Vijay Kumar, Jayanagar BJP candidate. Election from RR Nagar has been deferred by the election commision. The poll in RR Nagar will now take place on May 28, counting on May 31.

Re-polling will take place in Hebbal assembly constituency’s Polling Station Number 2 after polling was stopped due to EVM failure.

Counting will be held on May 15 and results announced on the same day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here