Eleven chief ministers are now facing criminal cases, reveals report

Be the first one to Share with friends

The Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and National Election Watch (NEW) have released a report on Monday that makes shocking revelations. The report said that as many as 11 chief ministers have criminal cases registered against them and 25 are crorepatis.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis leads with 22 criminal cases, out of which three are serious criminal cases. Kerala Chief Minister Vijayan is on the second spot with 11 criminal cases against.

Delhi Chief Minister Kejriwal, having 10 criminal cases, is in the third position.But when it comes to the serious criminal cases are concerned, Kejriwal is on number one with four cases.

The report says, “Out of the all 31 Chief Ministers analysed from State Assemblies and Union Territories, 11 (35 percent) Chief Ministers have declared criminal cases against themselves.”

The report further elucidates names such as Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Telangana Chief Minister K.C. Rao, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, Puducherry Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy, Andhra Pradesh Chandrababu Naidu, Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh have criminal cases registered against them.

However, only Chandrababu Naidu, V. Narayanasamy, and Mehbooba Mufti, out of 11 chief ministers, do not have serious criminal cases registered against them.

The serious criminal cases registered against them are related to murder, attempt to murder, cheating and dishonestly inducing delivery of property, and criminal intimidation etcetera.

While in terms of personal wealth, 25 chief ministers out of 31 are crorepatis. The wealthiest chief minister is Chandrababu Naidu who has declared assets worth Rs. 177 crore.

Pema Khandu, chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh, is on second spot and Punjab Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh is on the third place for declaring assets of Rs 129 crore and 48 crore respectively.

The poorest among all the chief minister is Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar who has assests worth Rs. 26 lakh only. West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti have second and third lowest assets at Rs. 30 lakh and Rs 50 lakh respectively.

The ADR and the NEW prepared the report after analysing the self-sworn affidavits of current Chief Ministers in State Assemblies and Union Territories across the nation.

These are the latest affidavits which were filed by them prior to contesting the elections to the State Assemblies/Union Territories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here