Prem Chandra Agrawal elected Uttarakhand Assembly Speaker

Three-time BJP MLA from Rishikesh, Prem Chandra Agrawal, was elected unopposed on Thursday as the Speaker of the Uttarakhand Assembly.

After he was elected to the post, Mr. Agrawal was handed over the charge as the new Speaker of the House by the interim Speaker Harbans Kapoor.

Introducing him in the Assembly, Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat described Mr.Aggarwal as a resolute man of action.

ALSO READ: Major reshuffle in Punjab Administration post elections

With no one else filing nomination for the post yesterday, Aggarwal’s unopposed election as the Speaker was an obvious conclusion.

56-year-old Agrawal, who has an RSS background, has won from Rishikesh seat for the third time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here